Help in selecting a beginner webpage editor

Discussion in 'Software' started by BlackCat, Jul 19, 2004.

1. BlackCat

BlackCat Private E-2

I am interested in starting up a webpage. I am only a beginner in HTML, I know the very basics, and so I aim for my webpage to be aesthetic, but not super fancy.

I'd like some opinions on what some good webpage editors are (such as FrontPage). Free ones would be good but I can also afford 100$ and down.

The webpage will contain no more than pictures and words.

Last edited: Jul 19, 2004
  2. NeoNemesis

NeoNemesis Moutharrhea

I would use the FREE web editor AceHTML which can be found here:

http://software.visicommedia.com/en/products/acehtmlfreeware/

It comes with an editor, and a built on previewer so you can see what you have made before you launch and save it. And for beginners it comes with tutorials and free code snidbits so that you can use the code (such as buttons, menus etc) and customize it and learn the syntax for each part of the code. The best way to learn a new language is by example. That is how I have learned every language I know.

3. BlackCat

BlackCat Private E-2

Thank you.

Forgot to mention, I'm also looking for a great free or cheap web hosting service if anyone knows of one.

4. NeoNemesis

NeoNemesis Moutharrhea

5. da chicken

da chicken MajorGeek

There's no such thing as a "great free web host". I use Surpass Hosting for hosting and GoDaddy for domain registration. Costs me ~$50 for a year.

I use Araneae for HTML coding when I do it, but it's pretty much Notepad with extra features. Try THIS thread.

6. NeoNemesis

NeoNemesis Moutharrhea

Yes but for a good Free HTML editing program for beginners I would go with ACE HTML since it has the code examples. And a built in previewer.

7. BlackCat

BlackCat Private E-2

I'm aware of this, I meant the best available considering it's free.

Thanks for the suggestions.

8. goldfish

goldfish Lt. Sushi.DC