Help me please. My explorer bar and desktop icons keep disappearing on and off...

Discussion in 'Software' started by chocolateflowers, Sep 19, 2008.

1. chocolateflowers

chocolateflowers Private E-2

Hello everyone I am a completely noob when it comes to computers and software and I'm really pulling my hair out over my windows xp software.

I have scoured the internet and I've gone through dozens of forums in aid of help to fix this bugger once and for all but I still have not managed to find a solution to the disappearing desktop icons and explorer bar.

These are the methods I have tried:

Ctrl Alt Delete and typing explorer.exe in File + Run - It will only let me use explorer for a while till it disappears again.

Right clicking my desktop to show icons (won't work as I can't access the right click facility)

Downloading SuperAntiSpyware,Spybot Search and Destroy, Virtumondo, Combofix, Abexo Free registry cleaner... and all the software you could possibly think of

I have tried a system restore

I have also changed and retyped in the value of explorer.exe in my shell registry list...

The only method that I have not yet tried is the pasting of a log etc - I simply do not know how to do this!

Please help me out, I would be very grateful. I think I may have ruined my father's laptop :S

2. Doc13%

Doc13% aka Kestrel13! aka Emms

Hi and welcome :wave
    you should start a thread in the malware removal section and upload the logs that were created by running superantispyware and the other tools, but do make sure you have properly followed the "Read & Run Me first" procedure before making a new post in malware....

3. chocolateflowers

Ok, I will do. I think I have read the item you mentioned...

And aside from spyware, could it be that some of the programs I used got rid of some vital registry components :S

4. chocolateflowers

By the way Thank you for the welcome :)

5. Doc13%