HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PC died

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lorilu, Jul 5, 2004.

1. lorilu

lorilu Private E-2

I am on a borrowed PC .. last night I was going to install a 1394 firewire card on my pc to work with my camcorder and I thought at the same time I would install some more ram a friend gave me................ well the pc makes noise and acts like it is starting up it gives me 1 long beep and nothing else........
    it has windows XP the upgrade on it.......................... I do not know much else and I am a beginner ,I uninstalled the extra Ram again and the 1394 card but the same beep thing is going on,,, what happened can it be saved? :(

2. Major Attitude

Major Attitude Co-Owner MajorGeeks.Com Staff Member

VERY hard to diagnose from afar. Be sure all periphials are properly seated (video, modem, etc) and verify all cables are also connected properly. An easy mistake to make is to accidentally loosen a cable or card when you are tinkering in the case and not even know it or even see it when your looking for it. This is a first step :)

3. alanc

alanc MajorGeek

Also re-seat the RAM that's still in there.

4. lorilu

lorilu Private E-2

ok did all that stuff , (checked ,pulled out , reinstalled,video, Ram , Modem , cables , etc) also I think we tried to clear the BIOS (if we did it right) We are not very computer techy but we tried . WE still have the same problem . a long beep and a blank screen, He bought me another pc but we do have a bit of money in this one I would hate to just let it be a dust collecter or a item for the trash, any more suggestions?:confused:

5. sephiroth555999

sephiroth555999 Private E-2

the easyest way of killing bios settings is just to remove the silver battary on the motherboard unplug your system from the wall and leave it for about 30 mins. Also i would say just use you old ram not the new stuff hope that helps

6. suesman

suesman First Sergeant