Help Please! Wireless Router Range issue....

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by stocksfam, Feb 3, 2008.

1. stocksfam

stocksfam Private E-2

:confused Hello all, I was wondering if i might be able to get some help. I am new to the whole wireless router thing and need to know if there is anyway to extend the range of the signal? We went to Best Buy and bought a D-Link Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Router model DIR-655, the sales associate thought it would work for us to be able to connect wirelessly in the house and the home office about 200 foot away (the office has metal siding, not sure if that is an issue...). Well the signal is great in the house and decent almost to the front door of the office, but kaput in the office. My question is, what do I need to extend the range (if anything would work)? I have been trying to do some research of my own online but it's making my head spin :) I am not sure what is what i.e. range booster antenna, usb adapter card, or where to even start looking...:( Sorry to be so needy, I am way out of my league with computer issues. Thanks in advance.

Chey

P.S. I don't know if it make a difference or not but we have WildBlue sattelite internet

2. BILLMCC66

BILLMCC66 Bionic Belgian

I also have a D Link 655 plus the booster dongle and my laptop works perfectly around the house but recently i had to put my work station in the garage it is only about 20 feet from the router but the signal drops to very low and slows down a lot it's just because there are two rather thick walls between about 13 inches and have cavity insulation the router just does not have the ability to penetrate very well.

radio signals like to go in straight lines so hence the deterioration

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 7, 2008
  3. studiot

studiot MajorGeek

Hello, Stocksfam, welcome to MAJOR GEEKS.

Yes there are several ways to overcome your difficulty.
    30 metres (100 feet) is about the average max useful range.