Help Please with Inspiron Pro/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection Code 10

Discussion in 'Software' started by chelle223, Feb 4, 2010.

1. chelle223

chelle223 Private E-2

I am a college student who knows nothing about computers. After discovering I had a virus, I took my laptop to my IT center on campus. To fix the problem, they reinstalled my OS. However, when I got my computer back, the wi-fi wouldn't work. After trying to install like 10 different drivers they told me my wireless card was bad. However, they had just done a diagnostics test and everything was working, not to mention that I hadn't had any problems with the card prior. I have a Pro/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection card and the error that keeps popping up is a code 10. Do you really think the card is dead? WHat should I do?

2. thesmokingun

thesmokingun MajorGeek

what operating system is it, and what is the make/model of the computer, or is the wireless card an addon or built in?

3. Spad

Spad MajorGeek

Welcome to Major Geeks!

Ditto what thesmokinggun said - the more info the better.

A few things to try:

The first thing I would try is finding and downloading the proper drivers for the card - you can start by looking here for the driver that matches your operating system:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sea...ntelĀ®+PRO/Wireless+2915ABG+Network+Connection

I am going to assume you are using some type of Windows product - if XP or above, go into add/remove programs and remove any driver listed there for your Pro/Wireless device. None may be listed. Now go into Device Manager, locate and delete the Pro/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection. Reboot the computer and let it "find" the "new" hardware. Install the drivers you downloaded earlier.

If you need help with any of this, let us know. It appears the driver file is an .exe package so it shouldn't be a problem.

Keep us posted! :)

4. chelle223

chelle223 Private E-2