Help With Defragging...

Discussion in 'Software' started by 4einc, Oct 18, 2011.

1. 4einc

4einc Private E-2

I'm so use to using a 32bit OS I recently joined the rest of the world and got a 64bit OS (Windows 7 Home Premium) anyways for the most part I continued to use the same programs from my 32bit days to my 64bit days changing up anything to 64bit if it gives me that option...

But here's where I run into problems, I don't know what to use for a defragger, I have a subscription for O&O Defrag 14, although the screen saver mode seems to dislike my computer now as it runs very groggy to the point of freezing, so I don't know what to use to defrag things.

Does having a 64bit defragger make that big of a difference over having a 32bit defragger ?

Any suggestions and comments are appreciated as I continue to look for a new defragger.

Thanks;
    Shane

2. falconattack

falconattack Command Sergeant Major

Hi mate , why do not use windows deframent tool ? Another thinking of me is using Defraggler

http://majorgeeks.com/Defraggler_d5777.html

which supported of 64 bit operating systems !! :wave

3. 4einc

4einc Private E-2

Hi FalconAttack;

Trust me I have thought about using windows default defragger, although I always get discourged by other reviews as some people swear by it and others say its garbage...

I'll try Defraggler for sure, I've always been a big fan of Ccleaner.

Thanks sir.

4. mjnc

mjnc MajorGeek

Simply said, No.
    It does not affect how files are stored on a hard disk.

Puran Defrag is popular among MG forum members and Major Attitude has produced a good overview tutorial video which you can view on the program download page.

From the Puran Software web site:

5. COMPUABLE

COMPUABLE First Sergeant

>> But here's where I run into problems, I don't know what to use for a defragger <<