help with networking wireless internet

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mrviper91180, Aug 2, 2006.

1. mrviper91180

mrviper91180 Private E-2

Hey guys, im hopeing that you can make sense out of this for me. ok im an automotive service technician, and as im sure you are aware electronics on vehicles is more complicated everyday, the new scan tool that we have has to connect to the internet via our dealerwebpage in order to retrieve flashes to flash a controller in the vehicle. (how am i doin so far?) now the only place in the shop that this is possible is way up at the other end of the shop, which makes it a pain to do for me. so since money is an issue apparantly i had to scrounge up an old computer from another department as they wouldnt purchase us one. ive got it running wireless from a router at the other computer and everything that way works great, now, the scan tool has to be wired to work, so can i make it so i can plug into the ethernet card in the computer and then to the scan tool and go online via the wireless computer?im thinking that this is possible but im unsure how to go about setting it up any help would really be appreciated. thanks

Matt

2. brownizs

brownizs MajorGeek

If the scan tool has possibility to connect via Ethernet, then there should be no problem using a Repeater to allow you to hook up that way. Otherwise, you would have to do what you are already doing.

What brand and model of Diagnostic tool unit are you using?

3. mrviper91180

mrviper91180 Private E-2

4. brownizs

brownizs MajorGeek

A repeater allows you to move the signal to where you need it, without having a computer in that area. I see that it has a PCMCIA slot for a Wireless card, do you have that already installed?

The StarScan also includes a PCMCIA slot, and can also support optional wireless LAN connections using WiFi cards from Avaya (formerly Orinoco, formerly Lucent Technologies) or from Cisco's 350 series.

5. mrviper91180

mrviper91180 Private E-2