HP dv9700t Question

Discussion in 'Software' started by AnthonyF, Jul 26, 2008.

1. AnthonyF

AnthonyF Private E-2

Hello, my name is Anthony and I am new to MajorGeeks as a member but have used it plenty of times as a information place to find answers to my questions. Sadly however I cannot find an answer to what I want to know this time so I decided to finally join up and ask!

I am currently looking to purchase a laptop within the 1000 - 1300 dollar range. The HP dv9700t has caught my attention as it is pretty well priced for the performance I am looking for (T9300, 4gb and a decent dedicated video). Any computer I have ever owned has always been built by me and OS installed, drivers, all that jazz on my own. I hate software that I don't first review and install myself which sucks because I know HP is going to load this thing with stuff I don't want.

So my question to everyone is would it be possible to purchase the laptop and format it, reinstall Windows and also install only the things I want. Can I find drivers so I can have my webcam, mic and finger print scanner working properly? Thanks in advance for any help! I hope to become an active part of this community :D.

2. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

Hi Anthony welcome to the forum

Hi yes you could re-install Windows so long as you have a full Windows CD/DVD ( depending on version of Windows ) to reinstall with as generally laptops and OEM PCs are supplied only with restore CD/DVD/HD Partition in which to re-install your Windows and all of the pre-installed software with.