I can't bypass startup password on laptop

Discussion in 'Software' started by GCG_admin, Mar 7, 2011.

1. GCG_admin

GCG_admin Private E-2

Hi all

In advance, thanks for looking at this thread and apologies if posted elsewhere (I could not find one relevant) .

I have entered a password in the BIOS settings (can't remember which one) and now have forgotten it rolleyes. Each time I switch the laptop on, after a few seconds of loading windows the laptop screen turns black and asks for the password.

I have a DELL Vostro 3700 running Windows 7 Ultimate.

As an amateur I tried the following so far:
    1. Trying every password I know
    2. Pressing F12, F2, F8 on startup
    3. Trying a fresh install of operating system
    4. Booting off my network
    5. Currently taken the screws off the laptop with a view of finding an internal battery to take of to reset (this is where I stopped myself)

Please help! I have a new member of staff start tomorrow and I need the laptop working!

2. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek

You do need to remove the CMOS battery to clear that password. If there is another way hopefully someone will post it.

3. GCG_admin

GCG_admin Private E-2

Hi

I have tried removing the CMOS battery, in fact removed every part possible and put it back together. I still cannot bypass the startup password. Any other suggestions? Could I break the startup process somehow, the 'F' buttons don't work....

4. TimW

TimW MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert Staff Member

5. GCG_admin

GCG_admin Private E-2

hi,

I have tried bypassing the jumper, default manufacturer passwords, downloading various BIOS password recovery software (which are no use as I cannot access the BIOS or they are not compaitible with Windows 7) and still no luck... I have also downloaded the Dell manual and no way forward... any other suggesstions/tested methods...?:confused

6. tgell

tgell Major Geek Extraordinaire