I need help I am a noob( alg.exe)

Discussion in 'Software' started by Mikehelp, Mar 3, 2005.

1. Mikehelp

Mikehelp Private E-2

hey geeks,

im a noobie at this stuff and i think i messed up my computer in
    a bad way. Well i didn't know where to post this but ill post it here. About a month ago ,since i didn't know much like I said, I saw this program running in my processes and it was alg.exe, and i thought it was some virus. I got many weird things running that i don't know and i just usually search for them and delete them. I accidently deleted alg.exe from my comp thinking it was one of those spyware or w/e processes i usually have running.(btw if you guys ever heard of fast.exe tell me about it also cause it always appears there recently) Ok so then i looked to see what it was but i saw it was from system 32 and like i said i was a noob and deleted and just then i realized that wasn't a bad process :mad:
    Well so since then i have been trying to do something about, my auto update does not work at all anymore, i can't uninstall my service pack ( my comp i got in 2002 and xp home edition came with service pack 1a im pretty sure) so recently I learned that I shouldnt ignore window updates right after i messed it all up. So yea, basically I can't get any updates, the website freezes on me and when i go to auto updates in control panel Ifreezes there too :mad:
    So guys I assume I can't do anything unless I get sp1a alg.exe from system 32 in windows folder. I already tried asking this guy that helps xp people he send me an alg.exe file from sp2 (i saw it in properties) to put in replace but it still wont work. When i see my processes the thing runs but instead of what it said before, owner i think, it says local service. Like i said I don't know much about comps but i need help from you guys who actually know about this stuff. I didn't install sp2 when it came out b/c at that time i didn't pay attention just letting you know.