Initial OS installation

Discussion in 'Software' started by SgtRon, Dec 12, 2004.

1. SgtRon

SgtRon Private First Class

Hi, gang! Just finished building my "super" PC. Tried installing Win 98,(used on my current machine) in prep for installing the update to XP. It went ok for a couple screens, but it gets to the place where it asks whether I want to boot from CD or Hard Drive. I choose CD and type in the command for d:\setup and it tells me that's an invalid drive. I've chosen b, c, and e as well, and it claims them to be invalid also. As I said, this is a brand new, never been fired-up machine. Here are the stats: Asus K8V mobo, Athlon 64, Seagate 120GB HDD SATA connected, 512MB memory, Mad Dog DVD/CD burner. I can get into BIOS no sweat. And, yes, I set it to boot from CD. Should I have used the Mad Dog install CD first? I'm new at this build-it-yourself game and not sure of the order in which to do all that has to be done. Any suggestions, and I mean ANY, will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    -SgtRon-

2. ArchAngel

ArchAngel Sergeant

Why are you bothering installing 98 first? Just boot with the XP disk and do the install. It will ask you at some point to put in a qualifying windows CD. The XP upgrade CD has everything you need. It just has to check for a couple of files to verify that you are upgrading.

3. ASUS

ASUS MajorGeek

I agree with ArchAngel, he speaka the truth!
    No need to load that previous version OS, only waste of time.

I'm alittle confused about your post regards to b, c, D: and this Mad dog install Cd, can you provide more info?

If this Mad dog CD is what came with your Mad dog CDRW drive, it has nothing to do with you PC/hard drive it is just info and garbage, you dont need it to run your CDRW, the windows CD & set up will provide the drivers for it. ( I bought Mad dog CDRW drive once it's piece of garbage, I had nothing but problems with mine, same with the one warrenty replaced it with!)

Your HDD is SATA? is it formated already?