installing MSOffice

Discussion in 'Software' started by pattipat, Apr 7, 2014.

1. pattipat

pattipat Private E-2

I originally posted to this thread and they thought I might have malware. We went through all the malware "stuff" and Kestrel13 determined I apparently don't have a problem with malware and suggested I come back here for help.

I purchased a new Dell computer, set it all up and set up everything to the best of my limited abilities. I installed the purchased MSOffice 2013 and checked it out enough to know it was working. I'm TOTALLY new to Windows 8.1, have been using XP at home and Windows 7 at work, so I was testing the waters trying to figure everything out. Something happened and it asked me to "clean my computer" and then suggested I needed to go back to an earlier restore point, which I did. This of course removed the installation of Office. After going through all the malware stuff and apparently I am clear on that I need to try to once again install Office. I found something on the computer when uninstalling all the things Kestrel13 advised me to uninstall that said repair Office. I did that and at least now it is allowing me to attempt to install. That is an improvement! Somewhere in all the fiddling, I now have Network2 in my settings. I'm pretty sure when I was setting up my internet connection it was Network1, but since it all seemed to be going smoothly, I didn't really notice. I wonder if this has something to do with my current problem as when I try to install Office I get this error message.

"We're sorry, we can't continue because we weren't able to download a required file. Please make sure you're connected to the internet or connect to a different network, then try again." I don't know how to connect to a different network, but I will continue to explore that question.