Internet Security Companies???

Discussion in 'Software' started by kilogulf59, Oct 27, 2016.

1. kilogulf59

kilogulf59 Private First Class

I've been using AVG for many, many years but was wondering if there's anything better on the market nowadays? $99 p/year is getting to be a bit much. Any recommendations or advice?

2. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek

I've been using Win 10's Defender with the Windows firewall, and before that 8.1's Defender and Win 7's MSE, all at £0 p/year. Unless you are an 'adventurous' browser these are all you need imo.

StruldBrug and katkat like this.
  3. MaxTurner

MaxTurner Banned

AVG is sadly quite bloat-ridden now, including the subscription versions.
    Comodo, Avast and Avira in their free versions are all better than AVG.
    In over 15 years of using Windows I never have paid for security and don't expect to in the future.

StruldBrug likes this.
  4. StruldBrug

StruldBrug Sergeant

Ditto Earthling and Max! Normally, I neither run, nor would ever suggest a beta. Yet, in this case, I make an exception. Take a look at the current Bitdefender Free Edition 1.0.3.9 Beta http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/bitdefender_free_edition.html
    I ran it a couple weeks ago with only one issue ... it caused a problem with my "folding@home" download headers.
    Bitdefender realtime AV engines have always rated high in comparison lists over the years. If you decide to try it, I can give you some notes here to make installation go smooth.

5. Eldon

Eldon Major Geek Extraordinaire

kilogulf59,
    FWIW AVG Technologies has been acquired by Avast Software. As of 3 October 2016, Avast and AVG has been operating as a single company.
    I don't believe Avast will continue indefinitely to offer 2 seperate suites of security software.

6. kilogulf59

WOW...so you folks use only the free versions of internet security software?