Is Dell a good computer?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Defense, Aug 4, 2005.

1. Defense

Defense Private E-2

I purchased a Dell 5100C and received it just one week ago. It has the Pentium D 820 2.8 ghz dual core processor, 160 gb ata hard drive, and 1 gb sdram at 533 mhz. First, trying to order this thing was a huge ordeal and saying that their customer sucks is being nice. Besides that, I have been receiving error messages, a Dell tech had to come to my house the day after I received it to fix the floppy drive and reinstall the video card (128 mb ati radeon). I am still having problems. I called Dell and they assurred me that a technician would call me and to make sure I was home. They never called. I have 14 days left to return this thing. My question is does Dell suck? Is it possible I received a piece of junk? I am very concerned about this since I am a full time grad student and if this computer breaks or turns out to be a lemon I can not just go out and buy another one. I think I should return it and possibly go with an IBM.

Can any one offer any suggestions? I just don't trust this company at all.

2. Shadow_Puter_Dude

Shadow_Puter_Dude MG Authorized Malware Fighter

People have mixed experiences with Dell, personally I won't buy one. Dell customer service is nonexistent, return the computer and demand a full refund. Call and get a RMA before you ship it back.

3. Defense

Defense Private E-2

The entire experience has been horrendous. The worst customer service I ever experienced and total waste of time. Would you recommend an IBM?

4. Shadow_Puter_Dude

IBM's cost more, but they are solid systems. If the computer is for school, check out HP/Compaq, they have several systems under $1000 that are good for college. My son just bought a Compaq, for college use, from Walmart for $478. A system with the same specs as your Dell will be closer to $800.

5. theefool

theefool Geekified