Is it now IMPOSSIBLE to avoid WGA and OGA to update WindowsXPPro?

Discussion in 'Software' started by GrammyJo, Jul 27, 2008.

1. GrammyJo

GrammyJo Private E-2

Hello.

I've avoided Windows Genuine Advantage and OGA to this point but am running into a lot of probs with Word now. I read that OGA wasn't even intended to be offered to the US and therefore I didn't feel I needed to pay attention to it. But today I read that as of January of this year it would be impossible to avoid doing so. Is that correct and MUST I now install it (them?) in order to update and or download from Microsoft? I really resent having to do this but if it's unavoidable at this point I need to know.

Also, if I were to actually change to Linux and stop using Windows would I run into many problems using my PC and the internet, emailing, etc? I've read so many times that folks really fed up with Microsoft (who isn't??) have switched systems and are VERY happy. But I'm by NO means an expert in these things and don't want to make PC life harder than it can sometimes be already!

Any and all help/advice is greatly appreciated and THANK YOU in advance.
    :)

2. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

Check out the Linux forum. I am sure there are enough threads there for you to make your decision.

I am not fed up with MS, but use Linux when I can, because its an OS for tweakers and tinkerers. If you don't fall in that category, you may not be happy with it. To each their own, you should try it out and make your own decision there.

As for WGA and OGA, I couldn't tell you. I have always had them installed, and never thought twice about it.

3. GrammyJo

GrammyJo Private E-2

Thanks for your reply adrynalyne. I'll do as suggested and check out the Linux forum. That's a good idea since I'm not really a 'tweaker' or 'tinker'.