ISO-rookie needs a hand

Discussion in 'Software' started by Marti82, Nov 4, 2015.

1. Marti82

Marti82 Corporal

I can't see the trees through the forest anymore, far too many programs to pick.

I am a total rookie when it comes to ISO files, but am willing to learn to anew 'world' as is anyway.
    I downloaded an game ISO, and am trying to figure out a program that is easy to use and easy to understand. I tried Daemontool years ago, but it ended in an disaster and I gave up (somehow my Windows got wrecked, after a complete reinstall of Windows it worked properly again).

Is there an easy to use, easy to understand program you can advice a rookie?

Thank you, in advance :)

2. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek

Assuming you are using Win 7 or later and that your computer has a DVD drive that can burn discs then you don't need a program. Just insert a blank DVD-RW disc and right click the downloaded ISO file and click Burn disc image.

3. Marti82

Marti82 Corporal

Tried EasyImg to burn the ISO, turns out the file to burn is actually 8 GB - won't fit.

Forgot to mention I still run XP.

4. Earthling

That file has to be burnt to a dual layer DVD and your burner has to have DL capability. As it's an old system that's probably not the case.

5. Marti82

Marti82 Corporal

I need a new burner anyway, this one requires some firm words in order to open the darn tray to begin with. Hm.. Guess I'm quite stuck then, when it comes to burning.

If I can get it mounted with a program that I understand, I'm a happy camper.. gamer, in this case, already. There are just so many programs that I don't know what would be best suited for me.

6. Earthling

I've used Virtual CloneDrive in the past but I'm not really into gaming or watching DVDs so I have no idea whether it can handle DL formats But at least it's dead easy to use, unlike Daemon Tools of days long gone ;)

7. Eldon

Eldon Major Geek Extraordinaire

8. Marti82

Marti82 Corporal

9. Eldon