Issues with MB Temp

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BrianBakerOrlando, Apr 27, 2006.

1. BrianBakerOrlando

BrianBakerOrlando Private First Class

im no rocket scientist..but i do believe 50C Idle for the Motherboard temp is pretty high...What gives? and what should i check...

2. geekedittilitGHz

geekedittilitGHz <i>puto cum grano salis</i>

for the mobo yes... for the cpu yes... generally you want to stay just under 50C

3. Bold Eagle

Bold Eagle MajorGeek

You have water cooling but how about air flow/cooling to compliment. Even with CPU and GPU cooled via H2O there would still be heat being generated by capacitors, Vid Card RAM etc.

Have you got a decent front inlet and rear or top exhaust?

Here is a mod I found for the top of the Vid Card ((VC)bit ghetto) but lowered system environment temps and exhausted heat, often the VC RAM is overlooked in cooling management:

http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=271

Last I read you were considering H2O block on north bridge and I assume you have south bridge considred so all I can I think off is good overall thru flow.

4. BrianBakerOrlando

My temps have never been this high,and i havnt done anything else to the inside to cause heat issues my motherboard temp was always lower than my CPU!!! I have 120mm intake 120mm exaust and an additional 80mm@2500RPMS Pulling air in on the side right onto the MB..the northbridge is still extremely hot added a new HS and fan and chucked the original factory HS..tHERMAL PASTE is good and the connection is tight but most of my heat is coming from the northbridge once again,I cant touch it,it BURNS,and i dont mean WOW its hot i mean left my finger on it for about 2 seconds and WOW wasnt coming outta my mouth it was more like GOD DAMN MOTHER F***ER OUCH!!! Why is it so hot i havnt done anything..if anything these issues came up with heat when i upgraded to a very good Power Supply 550w OCZ MODSTREAM 40A Rail....any siggestions would be great,,

5. Bold Eagle