Its Melting, Its Melting

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Anon-15281db623, Jan 26, 2004.

1. Anon-15281db623

Anon-15281db623 Anonymized

Hello everyone,
    I just joined here today, so i can see if i can get this problem fixed. I recently Built a computer. My XP2800 temps are around 60 Idle and 69 under load. At first i thought the hsf was not seated properly but i reseated it and still the same. I am using the stock fan and want to upgrade. Anyone got any suggestions. I was looking at a Volcano 7+ the new Volcano 12 is way to heavy.
    Thanks All!!

PS. There are 5 fans in my case so i have pleanty of airflow. Also the speed controller that is included. Is it optional? Could i hook it up to a controller i have on my case? :D

2. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

I have the Volcano7+ on the same CPU. Runs 50C on medium speed. Pretty decent cooler.

I'm no electronics expert, but I'd have to say you can most likely hook it up to another controller.

3. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

You may have 5 fans in your PC but alot depends on which way they are blowing... you can end up with dead air and cancel out the fans effect.

plus are all the cables neat and tidy as that also can have a great effect on the airflow.

4. General_Lee_Stoned

General_Lee_Stoned BuZZed Lightyear

agreed with halo you got get that air flow set up right or the fans might as well not be there

also 1 got a volcano 9 and ive wired the speed controller up to my own custom rheobus and it works just fine :)

5. DavidGP

6. Anon-15281db623

hello everyone,