Java array and layout trouble

Discussion in 'Software' started by Pure-D, Nov 21, 2005.

1. Pure-D

Pure-D Private E-2

Hi, I'm just getting into java at the moment I've had a little experience in C and C++, but not lots. At the moment I'm trying to create a simple calculator, and I hit on the idea of using an array to sort out the number buttons and there values, but I've hit a bit of a wall at the moment. Here's the code so far...

Code:
    import java.awt.*; 
    import java.applet.Applet;
    public class Calctest4 extends Applet{ 
     Button[] Num;
    public Calctest4(){ 
    }
    public void init(){ 
    setLayout(new GridLayout(4, 3, 4, 5));
     Num = new Button[10]; 
     for (int i = 0; i<10; i++){ 
     Num[i] = new Button(Integer.toString(i)); 
     add(Num[i]);
         } 
    }
    public boolean action (Event a, Object b){ 
     if (a.target instanceof Button) 
     showStatus(b.toString()); 
     return true; 
    } 
    }

I used an array to avoid this approach..

Code:

Button button1 = new Button("1");
    	Button button2 = new Button("2");
    	Button button3 = new Button("3");
    	Button button4 = new Button("4");
    	Button button5 = new Button("5");
    	Button button6 = new Button("6");
    	Button button7 = new Button("7");
    	Button button8 = new Button("8");
    	Button button9 = new Button("9");
    	Button button0 = new Button("0");

but because I'm using an array I seem to have little to no control over the placement or size of the buttons. I get errors when ever i try things like this...

Code:
    button1.setBounds(42,65,60,34);
    //or
    add(button1);
    //or
    add(button[]);

So what I guess I'm trying to say is how do i pull out the name or such of a button from the array i created?

2. BrokenArrows

BrokenArrows Sergeant

When setting the bounds like that you have to set the layout manager to null

content.setLayout(null);

content is the name of your jPanel