Java: What exactly does main(String args[]) actually mean?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Pandemonium Syndicate, May 4, 2008.

1. Pandemonium Syndicate

Pandemonium Syndicate Private E-2

Hey, Ima Noob here, but I see others have posted assignment problems, and I have run into my own, and I believe it stems from a fundamental ignorance concerning EXACTLY what happens when main() is called. We all know that
    public void main(String args[]) is the starting point of any Java program, as well as many other languages, but exactly does it mean? why is it vital? how does it work? When I actually break it down this is what I get:

a public void method, so it is available to everyone, and has no return value,
    It takes in a String array, named args[]

and that's...it. My problem stems from having a given main() in our program actually USE args[], it is literally something like:

public static void main(String[] args) {
    int n = 0;
    if (args[n].equals("-t")) {
    setTrace(true);
    ++n;
    }
    load(args[n]);
    run();
    }

so what we got obviously is a conditional that executes only if at
    args[0] == -t, it turns on trace, which in the rest of the program is essentially some non important debug output. But the interesting part is that
    load() is the method that I call to read a given file, which it does not pick up. So my question is this, what exactly does args[] MEAN? why does it freak out when we try to work with it in general? I understand that this code snippet does little to nothing, but what I am asking is for a quick explanation of what happens when main is called in terms of actual execution. Thanks for reading.

2. PC-XT

PC-XT Master Sergeant