Laptop questions (games and video capture)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Saotome2U, Dec 13, 2004.

1. Saotome2U

Saotome2U Private E-2

Greetings to all. First off, this is my first time posting in the forums, despite searching around the site for helpful stuff. :) I'm posting about a couple of issues I've run across with my laptop. Specs are as follows:

Sony VAIO PCG-GRZ series (bought new last year)
    2.49 GHz
    512 MB RAM
    Pentium 4
    40 GB HDD
    WinXP SP2

1. I've installed a couple of games on my laptop, but I've noticed that the games' framerates (FPS) tend to take a nosedive every now and then. By checking out the status of the games' FPS I can see that they initially start out at the normal 60 or higher FPS, but then plummet to around 20-30...but then about 60-90 secs. later, they go back up to 60 or higher. The FPS droppage of course cause the games to become a little choppy and not as smooth. The odd thing is, that out of curiosity, I installed the games on my work computer which are Dells that are at least 2-3 yrs. old, and the games work perfectly with high FPS, smoothly and all. These Dells are definitely not as powerful as my computer, with much less HDD space, Pentium III's, and the processor power is lower, yet the games work virtually flawlessly. I found the Game Accelerator software on this site and installed it to see if that would help. Surprisingly enough, on Thursday the games worked perfectly - completely smooth, high FPS, etc. But then, just on Friday and Saturday, it resorted back to the way it was before installing Game Accelerator, even with different configurations. I've already scanned for viruses, spyware and adware, and earlier last week, I backed up everything and did a system restore, only reinstalling the software that I wanted to retain, but the games still behaved this way. It's almost to the point where I wanna shell out for a Dell OptiPlex for CPU portability. :rollseyes: :eek: