LCD Monitor blackout and resets only when playing games??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by da_vinci1452, Sep 8, 2005.

1. da_vinci1452

da_vinci1452 Private E-2

Hello fine folks! I have a girlfriend (oh joy!) with a major LCD Monitor issue. Well that's the only issue I am allowed to talk about here anyways.

Over the past month her monitor seems to be resetting ONLY when playing some pc video cames. These are not really high resolution games such as Half-life or anything. These are free games found on Yahoo or Terragames webistes or the like. The oddest thing I find is that when the screen comes back (just black for 2-3 seconds) the game program is minimized. This does not happen with Excel, Word, or any other programs on her pc. I have had her uninstall and then reinstall the games to no avail. We have also adjusted the resolution settings about 6 times which didn't help either.

I am no expert but I have had pretty good success trouble shooting in the past, and this site has been instrumental in helping me on at least one other issue. So I was hoping somebody may have more experience than I do in this area and be willing to help. Please - she is becomming impossible to live with!!! No kidding. Please help guys!

2. rogvalcox

rogvalcox MajorGeek

Try uninstalling and re-installing the graphics driver and/or make sure you have the latest driver from the manufacturer!! If you have recently installed the latest driver for your graphics...try rolling back to the last version you remember being stable!!

It sounds to me like your graphics driver keeps trying to reset the screen resolution...which can be a result of a corrupt driver...or simply needing to update the driver in order for it to be compatible with what is giving you your problems!!

If you need anymore clarification...just let me know!!

Roger

3. askantik

askantik Sergeant