lilo removal

Discussion in 'Software' started by tomkrezel, Jan 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomkrezel

tomkrezel Private E-2

i was wondering if somebody could walk me through the removal of the lilo boot loader that was installed with the mandrake system that i have been experimenting with for the last two months.i dont care for linux all that much(maybe i just dont have the right computer skills or background) and i would like to remove lilo. i have a dell demension 4550 ,2.4 ghz, 1 gb ram , western dig. (60gb) master,seagate (160gb) slave, win xp home os.i know that the procedure involves using the install disc and some commands for the mbr but i'm really leary of messing up the boot process. thanks so much .

2. likeautumn

likeautumn Private E-2

Is Mandrake still installed?

If not, boot to DOS and type fdisk /mbr

3. tomkrezel

tomkrezel Private E-2

thanks for the reply likeautumn, but when i type fdisk/mbr as a command prompt i get a message that tells me fdisk/mbr is not an internal or external command,operable system, or batch file. did i do something wrong?

4. likeautumn

likeautumn Private E-2

My guess is that you are trying to do this from a command prompt within Windows. You have to boot into dos from a floppy with fdisk.exe. Try http://bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm and click the DOS 6.22 link. Format a floppy and run this program and you will have said boot disk. Reboot and type fdisk /mbr (make sure you get the space before /) at the command prompt.

5. tomkrezel

tomkrezel Private E-2

thanks alot for the response and info on fdisk/mbr.i'm going to try it out right now.

6. Cisco702300

Cisco702300 Private E-2