Linux N00b

Discussion in 'Software' started by gamejunkie13, Feb 20, 2008.

1. gamejunkie13

gamejunkie13 Private E-2

I have been working with windows for a few years and I have looked into learning Linux, but never got around to it. I just bought a new Asus EeePC. It is running a gui version of Linux. I would like to learn more about it, without just relying on the gui.
    Any helpful suggestions would be greatly appriciated.

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

3. mikkh

mikkh Private First Class

The default OS is Xandros (good choice IMO) and you couldn't ask for an easier to use version of Linux, so there's nothing much to learn really.

There's no real need to 'get your hands dirty' because the majority of things can be done in programs with a GUI front end - much like Windows, where you don't have have to the resort to the command line that many times.

There are many Linux command line sites, but they're usually just boring, poorly explained lists of commands with few examples and I can't think of a decent one off the top of my head to recommend - mostly because I haven't found one yet!

You pick things up as you go along, mostly by following examples in forums

Here's a few commands I've found useful....

ifconfig - the Linux equivalent of ipconfig, but with more detail

xkill - kill the next program or window you click after using the command
    (useful for programs that fail to respond or crash, and instant unlike Windows 'end now') Although you can press CTRL+ALT+Backspace to kill the entire GUI and return to the login prompt if you're really stuck

ls - similar to DIR in DOS. Handy if you're CDing up and down directories and want to check where you are.

Once you get used to the command line, you'll find it has many advantages over DOS, like command history being available using the up/down arrows and completion of commands with the TAB key