Locking The Computer's Door

Discussion in 'Software' started by Hurrycane, Jul 24, 2010.

1. Hurrycane

Hurrycane Private E-2

Dear MajorGeeks,

Thanks for your site and your help. I am a landscape photographer who like a lot of photographers is always looking to post my work in art and magazine sites. Like it or not, publicity keeps the bills paid.

But now I am not so sure. My handy dandy Sygate personal Firewall keeps catching an intruder from China (I have the IP numerical address) but no one can tell me how to simply close or block my computer's door in order to keep this Beijing guy out of my computer.

Am I missing something or is it true: I can't simply block by specific address this intrusion?

2. rustyjack

rustyjack MajorGeek

Hi there have just googled Blockng IP's and found this for you to try !

Here is something that I would like to share with every one and quite rare to find out. This tutorial will show how to block IPs on Windows server without firewall using IPSec:

Click 'Start' > 'Run' >type 'MMC' press ok.

In the console click > 'File' > 'Add/Remove Snap in'

In the 'Standalone Tab' click The 'add' button

Seclect 'IP Security Policy Managment' > 'ADD' > 'Local Computer' > 'finish' > 'close' > 'ok'

You should now be back to the console.

In the left frame right click 'IP security policies on local computer' > 'Create IP security policy'

Click Next and then name your policy 'Block IP' and type a description.

Click 'Next' then leave 'activate' ticked then click 'Next'

leave the 'edit properties ticked and click 'Finish'

You should now have the properties window open.

Click 'ADD' then click 'Next' to continue.

Leave 'This rule does not specify a tunnel' selected and click 'next'

Leave 'all network connections' selected and click 'next'

You should now be on the IP filter list. You need to create a new filter, so dont select any of the default ones. Click 'ADD'

Type a Name for your list, call it 'IP block list'