Missing afd.sys after running TDSKiller

Discussion in 'Software' started by jrmendez10, Apr 5, 2014.

1. jrmendez10

jrmendez10 Private E-2

Hello,

I'm kind of in a bind here. I had a redirect virus on one of my machines and used Kasperky's TDSSKiller because Malwarebytes and Norton couldn't get the job done. TDSSKiller worked, but now, I have no internet connection. After some research, I found that I may be missing afd.sys. (My apologies, as I am a noob to the world of system repairs) A little more research lead me to run Farbar Service Scanner Version: 25-02-2014, but I am stuck at this point and do not know what to do with the results. I've attached them to this post.

Windows 7 Home Premium x86
    Toshiba Satellite L505
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6500 @2.1GHz 2.10GHz
    3 GB RAM

Any help anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Attached Files:

2. Kestrel13!

Kestrel13! Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma Staff Member

According to that log, the file exists where it should:

There is even a back up copy hanging around.

3. jrmendez10

jrmendez10 Private E-2

*Face Palm*

I posted the wrong results. Here are the proper scan results:

Attached Files:

4. Kestrel13!

Run MGTools. Instructions here: Using MGTools

Attach the MGlogs.zip once done.

This is probably the backup though so we can replace it quite easily I think.

5. jrmendez10

jrmendez10 Private E-2

This is odd...I haven't had a chance to try your suggestion. In between you post and this reply, I went out to run some errands. I came back, started up the machine and I had internet connectivity. The only problem is, there seems to be advertisements playing in the background and I can't find which one it is. I tried running TDSSKiller and Malwarebytes again, and found nothing. Should I proceed with your suggestion?

PS - Thank you for taking the time to work with me on this. I appreciate it very much.

6. Kestrel13!