My computer seems to be going too fast

Discussion in 'Software' started by deanie0923, Sep 15, 2011.

1. deanie0923

deanie0923 Private E-2

I'm not sure what is wrong with my computer. I have Windows Vista. When I click the numbers on my calculator, it shows it 2-3 times more. Hard to explain...example: I click the number '9' and it appears as 99 or 999. In Windows mail, if I click a name from my contact list to send, it shows up 2-3 times. In facebook, if I click on my notifications, I have to click it several times to bring it up. I tried restoring my computer by shutting it down improperly and then clicking restore when I turned it on...that didn't work. Just a few minutes ago, I wasn't able to copy and paste.

All of this began after downloading an upgraded version of Firefox so I uninstalled Firefox and am using IE and Chrome.

I'm not technical with my computer, so if you have an answer for me, please use common language instructions. :-D

Thanks for any help.

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

Open Control Panel and click on the mouse icon. Check the slider for double click speed and move it towards slower.

3. deanie0923

deanie0923 Private E-2

Thank you but that didn't work. I also tried restoring my computer to the lst of August....still didn't help. :cry

Anyother suggestions???

4. motc7

motc7 Vice Admiral (Starfleet)

Deanie - when you say you click on the numbers on the calculator, does the same problem also happen when you use the keys on the keyboard?

5. deanie0923

deanie0923 Private E-2

no, the calculator doesn't work unless I click the number on the calculator.

Also, when I restored the computer, it reinstalled some programs I don't want anymore like Firefox....only now I can't uninstall it because when I click it to uninstall it jumps to another program grrrrrr

6. hrlow2

hrlow2 MajorGeek

Twitchy finger? :confused
    Switch to decaf. ;):-D

7. deanie0923

deanie0923 Private E-2

Smarty pants! :p

8. locodave