Need advice on digital camera

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BabyGirl27, Oct 8, 2005.

1. BabyGirl27

BabyGirl27 Private E-2

Hi all. Just had my camcorder and 5 years of tapes of my kids stolen. All those memories gone, got to stop crying. Anyway I have Australian $300 and would like some advice on what sort of camera (digital) I should buy. I have no idea what is good value. All help will be appreciated. I am so fed up with people’s lack of respect for others property, shit they could have taken the camera but left the tapes. Bastards burnt them in the bin over the road. Sorry I am rambling, shit all those memories gone. Anyway if any one has any suggestion. Thanks for reading.

2. BabyGirl27

BabyGirl27 Private E-2

3. ~Pyrate~

~Pyrate~ MajorGeek

4. BabyGirl27

BabyGirl27 Private E-2

Thanks Pyrate for the reply. I’m really lost as there is so much out there, and every shop I have been to swears this is the camera for me.

5. AirBot

AirBot Private E-2

I'm really no expert on digital cameras, but as with any piece of electronics the general procedure should be as follows: Go into your preferred electronics stores and write down the models of digital video cameras they carry that fit your price range. Then you go home and look up reviews of the relevant models. This should tell you which one fits your requirements best, and should teach you a thing or two about them in the process.

Sorry about your tapes getting stolen. People can be real bastards sometimes. :(

6. Orbital57

Orbital57 Private First Class

Are you looking for a digital camera or a camcorder?

The advice I had recently was that digital camera's still aren't that great for taking video (mine manages only 20 minutes 640x480 resolution @ 30 frames per second before it runs out of memory). Also, digital camcorders are still generally not that great.