Need Help, Audio Probs

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SeldoM, Mar 20, 2007.

1. SeldoM

SeldoM Private E-2

hello there, I'm a bit of a noob at this

i'm in a spot of bother and cant seem to find a solution to my problem. I'll give some details first then explain my problem.
    MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte GA-M61VME-S2, with onboard sound (REALTEK ALC883 CODEC chip, with AC97 front panel audio module).hope this is what you need info wise.
    My problem is this, my headset works fine(mic and headphones), and have sound and voice communication working. I use a gaming type of communication prog called "ventrillo" and some time tlk through in game voice com. The problem is when i use my push to talk key in either, the sound coming through my headphones is relayed to my clan mates or their voice's are relayed also, and it is usually louder than my own voice being streamed. It is as if my headphones have become a microphone. I have been through my sound settings and the fancy "gigabyte" high def sound settings and cannot figure this out. My question then is, does anyone know of this problem or suffered this problem, or Knows how to configure the settings for the above mentioned sound and mother board.

please help, as i wish to play my online games with my clan, and not annoy them.:(

i hope i have made this as clear as possible and any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited: Mar 20, 2007
  2. Albatrossgr

Albatrossgr Private E-2

Well, my answer might be totally stupid, but it is possible since it has happenned to me. If your microphone is very sensitive, and if you are lsitening from your headsets at a high volume, then what you are hearing could be transmitted by the microphone.
    If this is the problem, and you can't lower the volume at which you listen, then go to Volume Control options and lower your line-in volume. Hope it helps. I can't think of anything else.

3. SeldoM

SeldoM Private E-2

Thanks Albatrossgr,