Netbook wont go past startup menu

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Adnarim, May 20, 2012.

1. Adnarim

Adnarim Private E-2

Hi everyone, I am a total novice with computers and my netbook wont go past the startup menu.

I turn it on, and it goes to the black and white setup menu. It says harddrive error and wont go out of the menu although I have completed all of the scans available several times.

I have taken the harddrive out of its position and put it back in as advised on hp website. Have tried BIOS instructions as well and nothing is working. Phone hp and told to take it to a shop. Is there anything else I can try before I do this?

Its a HP Mini Netbook.

Thanks in advance!

2. brownizs

brownizs MajorGeek

You did not state what Operating system, what model of Netbook. Disregard the idiocracy that the HP website is stating. It is about as bad as the info their India call center reps give out. If you have a USB DVD drive, use it to attempt to do a boot up on a Ubuntu LiveDVD and check the S.M.A.R.T. info on the drive.

If it is showing as bad, now is the time to get a SSD for the Netbook. If you have not upgraded the RAM to the max RAM that it will take, now is also the time. Majority of the Netbooks will run 64bit Operating systems btw.

3. Adnarim

Adnarim Private E-2

Thanks for your reply. It's a HP Mini 200 running windows 7starter.

I don't have a USB cd drive is it possible to download anywhere onto a USB?

Also I don't understand what you mean by SSD and how do you update it. Sorry I am so clueless this is the first time I've ever had a problem with a computer

Thanks

4. the mekanic

the mekanic Major Mekanical Geek

brownizs means a "Solid State Drive" (SSD).

Those flash, a.k.a. thumb drive you use are the same thing, only smaller in size. They are faster, run cooler, and draw less current than normal "platter drives" and have no moving parts to fail.