New Computer build - nothing/black on screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by meMYSELFnI, Nov 19, 2009.

1. meMYSELFnI

meMYSELFnI Private E-2

First full build and I'm pretty confident that I put it together correctly, but I'm having problems. I've done upgrades on different systems from hardware to software, but this is my first full build. You'll have to excuse my ignorance on some of the terms since this is my first build. I know enough to get by. lol

I have a
    Antec 900 tower
    GA-EP45-UD3R MOBO
    Intel Q9400 CPU
    Zalman heatsink and fan
    4 Gig OCZ Reaper mem
    Corsair tx750 (overkill but will be upgrading throughout the years)
    Radeon HD4670

Moment of truth - turns on and everything looks good EXCEPT my screen on my computer is black. The light just stays orange on my monitor like normal in sleep mode. Doesn't even flicker green. All the fans are running except the CPUs fan, but I don't know if it only kicks on when the CPU reaches a certain temp or not.

I've checked and rechecked the connections. I've looked and cant see any secondary power connection for my setup neither on the board or Graphics card. I've tried resetting CMOS. I hear a faint beep when I just power it on but thats it. I'm running bare minimum and have swapped the sticks of ram. No Change.

I don't have the ability to swap hardware since all my other computers are ancient and aren't compatible hardware wise.

I'm out of ideas and need some help with this.

Thanks in advance for your guys help!

2. Puppywunder58

Puppywunder58 Master Sergeant

If your CPU fan isn't running then it might not be connected to the MB or the fan is faulty.

You may have fried your CPU.

Does this MB have onboard video? If it does then connect to that one first.

3. meMYSELFnI

meMYSELFnI Private E-2

The fan is connected, but don't know if it's faulty or not. Not until I have the CPU actually do some processing. ;)