New Here, first of hopefully many posts, need new pc help.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PghPittViper, Apr 14, 2008.

1. PghPittViper

PghPittViper Private E-2

Hi,

I am new here and have been learning much. I am in the market for a new pc and have been reading here a lot. I want this to be a very fast gaming pc.

I have had my eye on the Dell XPS system, but reading here makes me think I should build my own. I have been reading up on oc'ing, but don't completely understand it.

If you were to buy a prebuilt gaming system, which would you buy, or should I build my own? I have never built one before. I really have no idea what mb to get, or what cpu for that matter.

So, with this first post, I hope to get a dialog rolling. I would like as much advice/help as possible.

I am not sure if I want to oc the system, or if I should even build my own.

Well, I hope to hear from you.

Thanks

Viper

2. ibbonkers

ibbonkers First Sergeant

with the speed of stuff these days you can build it fast enough not to need ocing.My rig screams through anything and I run all stock. Specs in sig :) If I were to buy a prebuilt I would go with Dell and upgrade the video and power supply.

3. Mongoose

Mongoose Private E-2

I'm currently undergoing my second build. My first was simply, fairly cheap, and ran all the games I needed on best graphics for three years. Forget prebuilt. Build your own. It's fun and its faster for the money.