Newb needs help picking PSU upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by yeeha, Mar 8, 2011.

1. yeeha

yeeha Private First Class

Hey all. I'm not a novice but know just enough to screw things up.

I recently purchased probably the last AGP video card I will ever buy, a 1 gig ATI 4650. Unfortunately, I realized too late that its specs demand a minimum 400W power supply. My machine, a crumbling old Dell from 2004, has only a 305W supply.

What I need is a new PSU, nothing fancy but in the 400-600W range, which is compatible with my motherboard and will fit into my case.

The machine model number is Dimension 8300. Specs are here:

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim8300/sm/specs.htm

Any assistance for this newb will be greatly appreciated.

2. Caliban

Caliban I don't need no steenkin' title!

Greetings, yeeha.

A good online calculator is located here - plug in your specs, and you should get a good ballpark wattage figure.

Your present PSU - does the physical size/footprint look fairly common?

3. yeeha

Will post those details in a moment.. I am about to open everything up and see if it will work with my old PSU.

As far as actually picking the PSU, my main concern is compatibility. I've already been operating at 50 watts above the rated capacity for this PSU, so I'm confident that an extra 100 or 200 watts will be more than adequate.

This machine is at the end of its life, and I will not be adding any additional hardware to it.

(Current specs: P4 Northwood 3ghz, 4 gigs PC 3200, 2x 7200RPM 160G SATA drives, Sound Blaster X-fi card, extra optical drive. Really that's about it. All future investments will be for a new machine.)

4. Caliban

With no more upgrades on the horizon, doesn't make a whole lot of sense to get a powerhouse PSU.

If the size/footprint looks OK, check out something like this Silencer MK II 500w. I've been using PC Power and Cooling for years, and the Silencer is one of the best bangs-for-the-bucks on the market.

5. yeeha