Newbie's major problem

Discussion in 'Software' started by somean49, Mar 17, 2007.

1. somean49

somean49 Private E-2

A real newbie here but trying to catch up - like Zeno's tortoise.
    I tried to repair my installation of of WinXP Home but only succeeded in reinstalling over the old. In an effort to preserve my files of photos letters useful links etc. I did not use the computer again. Instead I obtained a new compatible harddrive which I have installed as master to the old drive's slave. I installed WinXP on a partition of the new drive. The search facility has shown that the information on the old drive is (mostly) intact. But - the crunch - I cannot access it.
    I now have two questions, one software and one hardware:
    Will the two HDDs in the same bay overheat?
    How can I access my data?

2. hopperdave2000

hopperdave2000 MajorGeek

No worry's about overheating: I've seen ALOT of PC's w/ 2 HD's in the same bay and NEVER had one overheat. As far as accessing the data: remove the slave drive temporarily (the old HD). Boot to the new HD and let XP load to the desktop. Now shut down. Re-attach the slave drive (double check the jumpers: DO NOT use cable select! Use Master and Slave). Reboot the PC. Again let WinXP load up to the desktop. Wait a minute or two for the 2nd HD to get completely 'installed'. You should be able to access the data by opening My Computer and opening the D: drive (or E: or F:, whatever). BUT- any programs you had on that drive will not run. If this doesn't work, let us know and we'll proceed from there.

hopperdave2000

3. somean49

somean49 Private E-2

Thanks for that Sgt Hopperdave. Unfortunately that manoeuvre didn't work - twice I tried in case I had missed a trick. Most of the documents can be found using 'Search' (providing I can remember the name) but they cannot be opened. Strangely a programme for cleaning up did open and run when asked: I did not, of course ,exercise the delete option. Where now, I wonder?