No option to boot from cd in Bios HELP

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by obugger, Mar 7, 2009.

1. obugger

obugger Private E-2

My friends pc (Dell Inspiron) boots into windows as far as the login screen but then logs in then out while the sceen flickers. eventually it stops at the login screen but he doesnt have password, and his profile password doent work. it does the same in safe mode. I tried to boot from the windows xp cd but when i go to the boot screen it says " cd not installed". so i obviously cant run any software from cd and it has no floppy drive. Can anyone help either with advice or help cutting off my friends arms so he cant bugger it up again. THANKS in advance.

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

Go into the BIOS and see if the cd drive is enabled.

3. obugger

obugger Private E-2

Im no expert at this, were would i look to find if its enabled. on the boot screen it says not installed. Im at the limit of my knowledge when it comes to bios so im not sure how i would do that. thanks again

4. ASUS

ASUS MajorGeek

It sounds like the CD drive isnt working...
    Is the drive connected properly, R & R the drive.....

5. obugger

obugger Private E-2

Yes the drive is connected ok, it WAS working fine before the problem occurred, (the logging on and off that is) I have a spare dvd drive to check if that will work but i have a sneaking suspicion that its ok. My friend said, and i quote " i changed something on one of the pages, something to do with digital?. on one of the f4 f12 pages" havent a clue what he changed but i suspect its the culprit. ill change the drive to be safe. Any other Ideas, is there no way to install the drive without getting into windows

6. jlphlp

jlphlp Master Sergeant

Hi,

Xp will make you a boot floppy that will setup the CD drive to work and get you to DOS. Run Setup on the XP CD. Go to Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs, StartUp Disk to make the disk.

Good Luck, Jim

7. obugger

obugger Private E-2