Norton vs. McAfee vs. ZoneAlarm vs. whatever

Discussion in 'Software' started by GoCowboys, Mar 20, 2005.

1. GoCowboys

GoCowboys Private E-2

I did have McAfee, but then switched to Norton ... I'm thinking about switching back.

Which internet security program do y'all use? Which do you think is the best one?

2. RayDunne

RayDunne Corporal

I've always preferred Norton AV over McAfee, I bought a Gateway with McAfee and got a virus, so I swapped to Norton's and liked it better anyway. I have been using that for 5 years or so and have had a few little trojans, but it always caught the virus. But since using MG, I have switched to avast!, found here >>> http://www.majorgeeks.com/download1968.html <<<. I like it much better than either. You are questioning about a firewall as well, I recommend Sygate found here >>> http://majorgeeks.com/download3356.html <<<. Both of these are found here >>> http://forum.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=44525 <<< I used ZoneAlarm for years too and it is a good firewall as well, I just like Sygate better as a personal preference. After you install both and update, I would recommend doing this >>> http://forum.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=35407 <<< if you have been on the net and are not sure of yourself as far as protecting your PC. ;) :cool:

3. RwsRichard

RwsRichard Private E-2

I think this is going to be a try, test and preference answer.

For over 5 years I was was a FIRM believer in Norton. I bought the newest version everytime it came out; checked for new virus detection files DAILY. I also let it run in the back ground.

But for over 5 five years I would get trojans, virus's, etc.. and I would have to reformat and reinstall Windows and all my applications at least 3 times a year!!