Office 2007 Beta and Word

Discussion in 'Software' started by Rebecca, Aug 28, 2006.

1. Rebecca

Rebecca Private First Class

Everybody has already told me that I shouldn't have downloaded the Office 2007 Beta software because I am not computer literate enough, so we don't have to start there. (Actually, many years ago I was a Systems Engineer for IBM. Trained in mainframes - MVS, VM, and VSE. Doesn't do me a bit of good with PC's.)

So I have Windows XP SP2 operating system and Office Pro. I downloaded the Office 2007 Beta. I like a lot of its features. But it has changed all of my Word documents to Wordpad. All the formatting is lost. It is NOT a critical issue. I would just like to know if it has happened to anyone else and if there is an easy way to convert them back to Word. Or if maybe I did something along the way to cause it. (I remember those calls from customers, "It was working fine, then all of a sudden it went boom! I didn't change ANYTHING!")

Rebecca

2. TimW

TimW MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert Staff Member

So, off we go again ....heh, heh ....open one of the files and do a save as, changing the format ...what happens?

3. Rebecca

Maybe that ghost has fixed this, too! I could have sworn I tried "save as" and changing the file extension to .docx like the new files. It didn't work when I tried it before, but it worked (I think) today. There is even a file now with the extension ".docx.doc) that seems to be opening fine. Why would that happen?

Just for completeness, when I go to "Save As" in the WordPad document, I get a box with:

File name "filename.doc" There is a drop down arrow, but nothing there.

Save as Type "Rich Text Format (RTF)"
    And dropping down are the choices: "Text Document"
    "Text Document - MS-DOS Format"
    "Unicode Text Document"

I don't use Wordpad, so I don't know nothin' about it.

I'm going home. If I have a reversal, I'll let you know in the morning!

Rebecca

4. tunered

tunered MajorGeek