Overclocking Athlon II

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LI_Geek_95, Aug 16, 2011.

1. LI_Geek_95

LI_Geek_95 Post-and-Run Geek

I have an MSI GF615M-P33 and an AMD Athlon II 450 X3 3.2GHz. I'm trying to overclock using the OC Switches. I tried all the switch combinations but none of them worked. I honestly have no idea what I'm doing, I've never overclocked before. Please help :)

2. Tueur

Tueur Sergeant Major

Hi there...

This statement really worries me. Overclocking is both fun and a good way to get a bit extra performance out of your chip but you HAVE to understand what you are doing. Im not an expert but I have done a bit and it taught me a lot about how my PC works so I would strongly advise you to have a go. However you must do the research first. If you change the wrong thing you could blow up your CPU, motherboard or RAM. Whats more Ocing is an art not a science and therefore no one can tell you how to OC your system it is a slow process of increase, test, increase, test and keep going til the system becomes unstable. Have a look for a beginners guide to overclocking on google. It will be a lot of reading at the start but if you enjoy computers it is very rewarding.

Additionally you will need to make sure you have some good cooling. Stock cooling just wont cut it when it comes to OCing.

3. augiedoggie

augiedoggie The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)

I remember you got a fairly inexpensive mobo, can't remember what it was, as some don't have the proper tools in the BIOS to start with. I wholeheartedly agree with tueur, study it like mad and go slowly. What is your mobo, I might be able to save you some time.

4. augiedoggie

augiedoggie The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)

OK, I see what you mean about the switches, it seems straight forward enough, all the switches do is up the FSB from %10 to %20. Did you check if the OC took with CPU-Z?

5. smutne opisysmutne opisyopisy do gg