overclocking e4300 need advice plz

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by anastrophe, Apr 22, 2007.

1. anastrophe

anastrophe Private E-2

hey i want to overclock e4300 and this is my first time overclocking. I was thinking 3.2 ghz would be stable 24/7. If you guys have any suggestions whats a stable fsb and what settings would I have to adjust?

Specs:
    motherboard: p5n-e sli
    RAM: mushkin pc6400 CAS 4-3-4-10
    cpu: intel e4300
    cooling: monsoon II lite
    case: nzxt zero

2. Anon-15281db623

Anon-15281db623 Anonymized

We have the same exact board and processor. I found that there was a memory hole between 1200 and 1333mhz FSB, so to get around it, I had to drop the multiplier down one and use a higher FSB to reach an effective speed of 2.8Ghz. 3.2Ghz was not stable for me at all, and 3.0Ghz was unattainable because of the FSB hole. I'm very happy with 2.8Ghz though, and it's been stable for a month with no problems what so ever. To get you started, read the overclocking guide at the top of this forum, and play around a bit. If you run into problems, post back and I'll see what I can do.

3. anastrophe

anastrophe Private E-2

can't I just raise the multiplier so I dont get into complications with RAM? If so how high can I go? Also one thing in the BIOS confuses me. It says the FSB (QDR) is 800 mhz when my fsb is 200 mhz can I just tweak that and pretend its 200 mhz x4? And if i were to tweak that how do I change the memory multiplier from x5 or so to x2 so my RAM doesnt break?

4. Anon-15281db623