PC problems after recent upgrade ;(

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jetbomb, Feb 14, 2009.

1. Jetbomb

Jetbomb Private E-2

Hey guys, im a newbie to the forum, and have pretty bad problem on my hands. I just upgraded my PC with a new video card (ATI x1650 AGP), and a few days later my PC...well...died ;(.

I've tried many things, from replacing the video card with spare ones that i have, to replugging EVERYTHING connected to and from the motherboard. Im pretty nooby at these things, and so i need some help before i go out and spend money for no reason. Heres my PC's specs:

Motherboard - Asus P4P800-E deluxe
    Processor - All i know is that it's a P4 2.8 ghz
    Video Card - ATI x1650 AGP
    Hard Drives - 2 Maxtors (dont really know their specs)
    DVD - One malfunctioning black LG burner and a functioning white reader (dont know who the manufacturer is)
    Power Supply - Antec True 430 (430w)
    RAM - (no stickers) Forgot, but i think its 2 gb (4 in place)

I would like to note that my power supply COULD have been affected, possibly due to the major power that all of the parts required.

Please, help a noob out.

2. hrlow2

hrlow2 MajorGeek

What is the make and model of the machine in question?

3. Jetbomb

Jetbomb Private E-2

Ugh after all the upgrading this thing got, it should just be known as a custom PC.
    The motherboard is from ASUS, but the case is an ANTEC. I bought this computer awhile ago from my friend, but it already had this motherboard and case, so im not exactly sure what model/make it is. I know that the motherboard is ASUS, but thats basically it.

4. hrlow2

hrlow2 MajorGeek

Does the fans inside spin when powering up?
    Does the lights on the front come on?
    Try using the onboard integrated graphics.
    Disconnect and reconnect the power cord from the back to ensure connection.

5. Jetbomb

Jetbomb Private E-2