Possible Page Filing system slow down?

Discussion in 'Software' started by swisschese, Apr 19, 2010.

1. swisschese

swisschese Private E-2

First and for most, you guys rock as tech support and fixes for some of the messed up issues.

I am a computer tech as well, in need of some help.

I have a dell inspiron 1721 Laptop here.

AMD 64x2 1.9GHZ
    3GB DDR2 Ram
    160GB HDD

I have performed an fresh format and reload, also without dell discs. From a cold boot the system will take about 3 mins to load into windows, i check the CPU usage, it's 100% i run WINDIRSTAT It shows my Page File using 100%, If i reboot it will act as normal - and everything will run as it should.

I have changed out the ram, used less ram to install and run the system, changed the HDD out with 3 different HDD's of different capacities also upgraded the BIOS to latest version.

Also, i have tried to install Linux, windows XP, Vista, and 7 and i get the same results!!.. As of now i am running windows 7 on it..

I have also changed the page system to 500MB , 200MB 16MB, disabled it, and let windows manage it.

I am really stumped!

Any help would be more than wonderful!!!

Thanks again

Swiss:wave

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

Since the choice of OS doesn't seem to make a difference, look to a hardware rather than a software problem. hard drive problem? bad RAM stick?

I own an HP laptop that does the same thing (not page file but 100% CPU usage) for over a year. I reload an image from an earlier date and it is normal. I haven't been able to figure it out. Note: it is off my network and the internet (that's to isolate that it could be caused by malware) and I resorted to removing all security programs, after scanning to be sure it was clean, because I thought one of those might be causing the problem. Right now, it hasn't acted up since the end of January when I restored an image.

3. swisschese

swisschese Private E-2