Possible partial HD failure?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kibble, Nov 13, 2007.

1. Kibble

Kibble Private First Class

Hey guys,

One of my friends just gave me a call and asked me to come check out his computer because it won't boot up and I'm not totally sure what to make of it (I'm no professional. ;))

Basically, he was streching and turned off his power bar while the computer was running while he was on MSN/internet. Everything instantly shut off, so he turned the bar back on to power it all back up again. The problem here is that the computer no longer can load up the OS without giving a blue screen of death (WindowsXP).

If I chose to boot normally, it gets to the 'loading' Windows XP screen with the blue moving bar, and will freeze a few seconds in. If I load it up in safe mode, it gives me a couple dozen lines of 'loading' Windows files, then hits files in M and freezes (Mup I think it was called?). I can't seem to load the OS fully and it just gives me a blue screen of death.

Now, I looked through the BIOS and saw that both drives were being detected, so at the very least the drives are functioning at some capacity. It is my theory that the Windows XP core system files were corrupted in some capacity, and the only solution is to format and reinstall. Would it maybe be possible to install a new OS on a new HD, and then make this HD a slave so data can be drawn off it? (Lots of data, no backup :X)

Thanks for the help! Hope the question makes sense. Let me know if you need more information.

--Kibb

2. dlb

dlb MajorGeek

It's probably a corrupt Windows file or several corrupt files. Can you post the blue screen error code (it looks like STOP: 0x0000007F) and any file names it might list?

3. Kibble

Ok, got some more info...

The error code(s): 0x000000ED (0x867599e0, 0x0000006, 0x0000000, 0x0000000)