Problems with installing - MSIEXEC always running

Discussion in 'Software' started by MaryLeGoth, Oct 20, 2008.

1. MaryLeGoth

MaryLeGoth Private E-2

Hello

This is my first time registering with a forum although I have browsed before. I have an ongoing problem which I have tried to fix myself to no avail and am not sure where best to post this so am using the welcome section, hopefully this will help.

Initially I seemed to have a problem with MSIEX running continually, I started using task manager to close it. I got error messages saying that msiex could not open Nero, especially when using googletalk. I uninstalled Nero using their software. I then followed instructions I found online and have tried to deregister/register msiex and then to uninstall and reinstall. I have been unable to run msciuu.exe because it says the msizap file is not the correct version (got them directly from the MS website).

It now seems I have not removed msiexec.exe (although I thought I had) but am not sure what is making it run (especially as it is not showing in task manager).

I have successfully run spybot, combofix, malware bytes but when I tried to install SAS I got an error message with MSIEXEC in the titlebar and the message "Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item". There is only one log-in for this computer and it is the administrator.

This is where my problems started. Then in the last day or so I had problems with some malware that spybot found but remained on my system. I then followed the directions on the malware factsheet in this forum, but could not complete all steps due to being unable to install some programmes. I also found through that I had "lost" my boot.ini file so I recreated it.