PSU Blown - Whats the cause?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by faylynne, Feb 8, 2011.

1. faylynne

faylynne Private E-2

Hi,

my desktop blue screened yesterday, (before it shut down, I heard a slow constant clicking - not sure if this has any relevance).
    When I switched power back on (before system started) there was a pop and the PSU started smoking...
    The hard-drives are ok, can access them via another system.

The question is: could a faulty power connector on the mobo have caused the psu to blow and if this is a possibility how can I check the mobo before I fit a new psu?
    My guess is, if there's a problem with the mobo it would short itself and shut-down, not affecting the psu?
    The above may be a daft question, but its hard to find 'easy reading' info. on power supplies, and I'm no electrician.

(This may be a red herring but I had some intermittant problems with the pc shutting itself down a while ago, and when I checked the mobo, the four pin plug from the psu wasnt sitting properly, so I assumed it was a 'wobbly connector' and ensured it was pushed firmly down - the pc has worked ok ever since)

If anyone can help I'd be really grateful, as I don't want to fit a new psu before getting some insight into what has happened.

2. augiedoggie

augiedoggie The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)

Age? Overuse? Quality? Hard to say what caused it, maybe a blown capacitor? As to a mobo killing a PSU, the reverse is the reality especially with a catastrophic meltdown like yours, I've seen people losing most everything due to a crappy PSU.

One needs the following protections in their PSU:

Over Current
    Over Voltage
    Over Power
    Under Voltage
    Short Circuit

Last edited: Feb 8, 2011
  3. Burrell

Burrell MajorGeek

Looks like the PSU has definitely gone to me, best way to check if other bits have gone too is to get another power supply and test it.