putting in a new hard drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by joking1970, Apr 2, 2008.

1. joking1970

joking1970 Private E-2

I am a BEGINNER and just trying to learn...I just installed a new hard drive and got past getting it detected and am stuck...It is an older tower that had a master and slave(it did work) I took the old hard drives out for a better machine. I have played with the jumper and gotten it detected but when I try to run my boot disk to format it keeps telling me Drive not ready Insert diskette in A: press any key to continue.........Any help here is deeply appreciated.

2. Yargwel

Yargwel MajorGeek

A new disk needs to be low level formatted first> the program you need for this is FDISK. This will create the partions required so you can then carry out a "normal" format.

This may help

3. joking1970

joking1970 Private E-2

I made a boot disk for windows 98 is that the fdisk or is that something I need to downlaod and put to floppy? As I said I am just starting off and not sure of what I am doing. Sorry if I sound stupid, but I am tying to learn this. Also thanks for the reply.

4. thesmokingun

thesmokingun MajorGeek

you need to go into your bios and tell it to boot from the cdrom first, it's probably set for floppy then harddrive. you should be able to switch the order to have the cdrom first.

5. joking1970

joking1970 Private E-2

I am in the ambios setup -bios setup utilities-----Is thaat where I do this? If so what do I choose?

6. joking1970

joking1970 Private E-2

Actually went to advance cmos setup there is a boot up seguence right now it is A:,cdrom,C: I want to choose cdrom,A:,C: or cdrom,C:,A:

7. Yargwel

Yargwel MajorGeek

It is. But you may need to check it is the latest version (the version I use is dated 18/5/00)

8. joking1970

joking1970 Private E-2

I used the same boot disk on another p.c. and it worked, allowed me to format hd and install win 98...If it worked one time it should work again correct?

9. joking1970