Questions about USB Flash Drives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by oma, Nov 25, 2011.

1. oma

oma MajorGeek

Got to admit that I never used Flash drives, just CD's. :-o So yesterday I bought 2 of them, being:
    SanDisk Cruzer USB 2.0 Flash Drive, 4 GB each. Of course no instructions included.

I want to copy "My Documents" in its entirety onto one of them but since I'm a complete noob regarding hardware I'm lost.

Questions:

1. Do I have to plug in my External Hard Drive prior to plugging in the USB Flash Drive to let Windows find the next Drive Letter?

2. Can I just copy and paste "My Documents" folder (which consists of documents, music, pictures etc. sub folders) into the Flash Drive or do I have to copy and paste each sub folder individually?

Heck, I googled for info. and found that one can also drag and drop a folder into the Flash Drive but I am afraid to lose "My Documents" or any folder on the HD. When dragging and dropping stuff in Windows on my HD it just get transferred to where I dropped it without leaving the file or folder in its original location. What gives?

TIA

2. sach2

sach2 Major Geek Extraordinaire

You don't have to worry about your external being connected as the USB flash will always be assigned the next available letter. It doesn't matter that one day it is assigned K: and one day assigned L: the data will still be there no matter what letter is assigned. Just as it might be assigned F: on a different computer it still has your files. The drive letter is just for the OS at that particular moment to access the drive.

Can say for sure. It should copy all sub folders as far as I know. I'd copy it and then look to make sure all your files are in the copy.