Radeon 9800pro lock up/direct3d/failure problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by neoyagami, Jun 21, 2005.

1. neoyagami

neoyagami Private E-2

Hi all

I would just like to raise a problem im having with a Radeon 9800Pro, and after reading numerous other posts on the Radeon blackout problems, i can only asume its either power problems or a wrongly configured setup. However im quite new at this and am looking for a more Judged opinion :D

After a good year my Radeon started to freeze my computer while watching divx movies and then starting up games such as Halo/far cry. I thought a driver reinstall might fix it, using the CD that came with the card. With no joy. So i uninstalled with driver-cleaner and installed newer catalyst drivers from 4.12 - 5.6, from the ATI site, all of which had various success but would eventually put the monitor into standby permantly.

I then reinstalling Win XP, latest nVidia NForce drivers for mobo, .NET for catalyst, old drivers again & latest version of directX 9.0 and ran dxdiag. Direct draw tests worked but not the Direct 3D tests. I noticed the CPU and mainboard temps were 50-55C so now the case is open with a table fan constantly blowing cool air which brings it down to 35-40C ;) The shuttle case can get quite warm. Also the PSU is only 240W and ive heard that a power supply of around 400W could be more beneficial (that cant fit in a shuttle case) but if so how did it sustain the Radeon for so long up until now?

In the meantime i have ordered a Radeon 9600 because it uses a heatsink no fan, fits a shuttle and i assume needs lower power demands, not bothered about speed for games too much, just want the card to work!

The bios settings are: aperture set to 128mb, 4x AGP, fastwrite on, and it auto detects the Radeon as no graphics card came with the shuttle and the options arent present on bios.