Recommendations for a Windows 7 security program?

Discussion in 'Software' started by SpokaneTim, Jan 29, 2014.

1. SpokaneTim

SpokaneTim Private E-2

I recently transitioned from Windows XP to 7. I invested in a new XPS 8500 desktop and run KIS 2014 as my security software. I discovered that windows 7 is a security mess and I need to harden my security before I go online. I want to prevent user access to drives and files. I am a newbie to windows 7, but it appears that even though you can reduce user access to files by reducing permissions, it doesn't stop accessing the files and permissions in other ways (command line execution, etc.).

I went through the security category on MG's and picked out all of the "5" rated programs dealing with file and drive locking security I could find. For instance:
    1. WinGuard Pro 2014 8.9.2.3
    2. WinLock 6.1.2

I selected these out of the listing because they either allow me to encrypt the data on a drive (Winguard Pro) or they allow me to deny access to the drive (Winlock).

I see that Winguard Pro has 107 votes and Winlock has 30. That is not quite enough votes from users to make me comfortable.

I was hoping the MajorGeeks tech team would have recommendations for a program that they have found to be most effective to help lock down the security for Windows 7.

2. 2-Bit-Geek

2-Bit-Geek Sergeant

I take it you are looking for something more advanced than an antivirus then?

Unless you are visiting dodgy sites, frequently download from torrent sites or are the target of hackers not much is needed to keep yourself secure. I personally turn off firewalls, AV or any programs that interfere with my connection when I play online games & recommend such measures to my friends since it's not necessary. I do however understand the importance of keeping bank details, security data or precious data safe.