recover from my near-dead hard disk to new one

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rastabaxus, Mar 4, 2007.

1. Rastabaxus

Rastabaxus Private E-2

I will try to be as detailed as possible.

My first 80GB Excelstor (IDE) hard drive has almost died. Now I have bought a Hitachi 160GB drive for a replacement.

I am a little new to installing hard drives but I have been reading many faqs about how to set them up.

Now my problem is that the guy at the computer shop said that it's possible for me to recover data from my old drive as it hasn't completely died yet. I have been trying to connect it.

I have connected it as the master and both drives show up but I can't get into windows on my new drive (the computer stops and I don't have a choice of whether to use windows on the hitachi or the excelstor).

When I switch the black and gray and the computer is rebooted the computer doesn't detect either drive in the bios. I get gibberish.

I have been trying to figure out the pins. I have the hitachi set to master and I am a little scared to move them around. The excelstor I cannot find the jumper settings. It looks like they are on the back of the drive though.

Can someone give me ideas or suggestions on what I am doing wrong? I would really appreciate it.

The drives are:

Hitachi Deskstar 160GB IDE
    Excelstor 80GB IDE (I cannot tell which model)

Thanks

2. Desert Geek

Desert Geek Private E-2

Are you trying to recover everything from old hard drive, including OS? Do you have the software to reload Operating system on new hard drive? Do you have the software from the major programs that you had installed on old drive?

3. Rastabaxus

Rastabaxus Private E-2

I only have some files to recover from the old hard drive. I don't care about programs. Only some pictures and document files.

I have already installed the OS onto the new drive. With the old drive I cannot get into Windows. It will start to load and that's it.

Last edited: Mar 4, 2007
  4. Rastabaxus