Red Switch on Back of PSU

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by zomg1337~, Jun 26, 2006.

1. zomg1337~

zomg1337~ Private E-2

im new to computers and my computer was broken so i pressed the switch on the back of the power supply and it burnt out

my computer was quite expensive, especially my video card and processor and hard drives. i know that my power supply is dead, but is there a chance that my motherboard, video card, ram, hard drives, processor, etc. could have been destroyed by this power surge as well?

my power supply was an enermax 535W power supply, and in the instruction manual it says it has over voltage protection, overload protection, short circuit protection, over current protection, and overtemperature protection. woult these things help keep my video card and processor safe or is there still a large chance that they are burnt out?

i would try my computer with another power supply but i dont have any other power supplies with the right amount of pins to connect my motherboard(mine needs 4 more than my older power supply has) and my pcie x16 video card needs a special connector.

i am going to go to the store sometime next week and see if trying out a different power supply works, but in the mean time, can anyone tell me if it is possible that i damaged the rest of my computer or if there is any way to check? im really worried because it will cost about 3000$ do replace it if everything in their is burnt out.

2. zomg1337~

zomg1337~ Private E-2

yes that is the switch i am referring too but i turned off the computer before switching it and then turned it back on and it caused a poiwer surge and the lights in my house flickered and then my computer died.

worst mistake ever.

3. zomg1337~

zomg1337~ Private E-2

alright, but is there anyway to know how much damage was done, or will i have to wait until i can get a new power supply in it?